HOME     Speakers and schedule     Location and travel    Accommodations and environment    Registration and fees    Sponsors and support   

     Delocalized Electrons in Atomic and Molecular Nanoclusters

July 22-28, 2016

Erice (Sicily), Italy

International School of Solid State Physics (71st Workshop) at the

Ettore Majorana Foundation and Centre for Scientific Culture

  XLIC COST Action (CM1204) Workshop

meeting photo-click to enlarge

A wide range of important effects in nanoscience are connected with the presence and behavior of delocalized and mobile electrons.  Nanoclusters, as important testbed systems for exploring and developing quantum size effects, novel materials, and reaction pathways exhibit a range of phenomena which are highly sensitive to delocalized electrons’ mobility, screening, response, direct and exchange interactions, correlations, etc.  However, these phenomena are frequently discussed in non-overlapping venues, and the aim of the present workshop is to bring together researchers in adjacent fields to examine recent and future developments.  To keep the discussion focused, it will concentrate on free clusters and related systems.

The program will include invited talks, selected oral presentations, a poster session and ample time for individual discussions.  It is especially hoped that graduate and diploma students, postdoctoral fellows, and anyone who is interested in the interdisciplinary richness of the subject will be able to attend the Workshop.


Fundamental quantum phenomena

General shell effects

Ionization and collective states

Optical properties

Molecular and ionic nanoclusters


Oxide nanoparticles

Quantum fluid clusters
Solvated electrons

Storage rings and traps

Workshop poster


Directors of the Workshop:
Vitaly Kresin, University of Southern California, Los Angeles
Klavs Hansen, University of Gothenburg

Advisory Committee:
Kit Bowen, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore
Michal Fárník, J. Heyrovský Institute of Physical Chemistry, Prague

Contact: DEAMN16@usc.edu


Director of the International School of Solid State Physics: Prof. Giorgio Benedek
President of EMFCSC: Prof. Antonino Zichichi


Updates: July 26, 2016